4.8
8 Reviews
5
75% (6)
4
25% (2)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
88% Recommend this product (7 of 8 responses)
By William S.
md
good light
January 18, 2017
This is another good light from Nitecore. It is bright and throws a good spot over long distance. Good price as well.
By Robert
Victoria, BC
Really good start in the AA light family
November 12, 2016
Good fit in the hand with a tail switch. Rotate the head to jump to high power. Has all the standard light levels at this size(high,medium,low,flash SOS,beacon). Great tight beam that really reaches out there. Good lower power level for walking. I keep mine on low and a quick twist of the head and pow almost a light saber.
By Denny C.
Dana Point, California
Probably the Best Choice for AA Tactical Flashlight
February 15, 2016
I was skeptical about buying a $40 (list) flashlight, but needed to replace my wife's 2 AA Maglite, due to the batteries being frozen inside. Research revealed very positive reviews and tests of the Nitecore MT21A, including long battery life, a solid penetrating beam, and a good choice of brightness settings. I purchased two, one for my wife and one for me. Our main use is for travel, as an emergency flashlight. The bright beam would help us navigate a dark or smoky hallway. The long battery life on low settings would help us if stuck on a cruise ship with no power for a few days. And being compatible with AA batteries makes it easy to transport or purchase spare batteries without running afoul of TSA regulations. I keep lithium batteries in the light and a set of 4 alkalines in the plastic Tenergy battery case.
ProsBrightness, battery life, nicely machined, uses common AA batteries.
ConsCannot use rechargeable lithium AA batteries. (Not a big deal, as AA batteries are easy to find, easy to transport spares).
By XEagleDriver
Columbia SC
Definite Improvement over Previous Generation (MT2)
December 9, 2014
I had previously ordered and use two Nitecore MT2 flashlights as an inexpensive, AA battery powered, everyday carry light. The MT2's have served me very well. When I went to order a third MT2, it had been replaced by the Nitecore MT21A. IMHO both models are solid every day tactical/safety flashlights with the MT21 an evolutionary improvement over its predecessor. The main differences I noted are: MT21A has a larger lens diameter, a brighter light, and a bigger center spot. Recommend, especially when on sale. Only reason for 4-Stars is these are not "be all, end all" flashlights, but are reasonably priced and an excellent value.
ProsPrice, brightness, size, AA batteries,
ConsNone for their purpose.
By Edward
Randolph, MA
Nice light
November 7, 2014
It's great to have in the house, the wife likes that you don't have to switch through different modes, while I like that option is there. We both win. Like the fact that it runs on 2AAs makes it economical. I did find that mine also has a SOS mode when used in its user-defined mode, I count that as 5 modes not 4 as advertised.
Prosruns on AA's, bright inTurbo and High modes like the design and construction
Conscan't stand on end
By Gary
United States
I would rate it 4.5 Stars !
October 3, 2014
This is typical Nitecore it throw a bright white light at all mid to high levels . It uses AA so it is valuable as an emergency light or everyday carry. It loses a half point with me because I don't like twisting the head to change modes. It should be a 5 star for someone who doesn't mind the twist.
By Bruce
Hayward,ca.
Wow what a thrower
September 23, 2014
If you are looking for a super bright thrower, this one is it.
ProsSuper bright and a thrower for little $.
By Jim N.
Good light
November 8, 2013
If I couild give this light 4.5 stars I would due to the fact that Nitecore left out a few very minor details that matter to me and I think would have made this light a little better. First is the tailcap. It doesn\'t have the protective \"ears\" that allow you to tailstand the light and also allows the light to be accidently turned on easier. Other than that it has the same button style and user interface as the MT series, which I love. Why they had to go with a different tailcap is beyond me... Second, is the lack of a pocket clip. Again, why Nitecore chose to eliminate this option is beyond me. Did they really need to save those few extra cents and cheapen the product a little? Take away those 2 dislikes I have which are very minor and mostly a personal preference and this light is great. It\'s got a tighter and brighter \"hot spot\" than my MT2a lights and is a fair amount throwier. One drawback to this is it\'s a little less of a good general purpose light that the MT2a is, IMO. To sum it up, great light. If you want more of a thrower in a NItecore 2AA light go with this one, if you want more of a multipurpose light I\'d go with the MT2a.

Page 1 of 1