4.5
40 Reviews
5
73% (29)
4
18% (7)
3
5% (2)
2
0% (0)
1
5% (2)
60% Recommend this product (24 of 40 responses)
By john
Mesa, Arizona
Great battery
September 19, 2019
These really are awesome. I'm gradually transitioning to rechargables, but I still like to use these in a pinch. They last a very long time and I've never had one leak after using these for about 4 years.
By at25526
WV
Nitecore NL166 RCR123A
July 9, 2019
Reliable rechargeable CR123 battery. Batteries are just a tad taller than primary 123s, but no problems in any of my lights.
By Tim R.
Worth the money
July 1, 2019
These batteries are great. Well worth the extra money in the long run.
By Calvin
Boulder, Colorado
Great tiny battery! Battery Junction is solid.
May 13, 2019
This battery is one I've been using for years. Nitecore is a great manufacturer with great versatile BPCs. Battery Junction has been awesome with support and service. Highly recommended.
By David
Tallahassee, Florida
I luv these critters
April 26, 2019
I have many devices that require CR123 batteries, and switched to rechargeable cells long ago. Bought generics first time around from Amzn; they were next to useless - short discharge times ans two leaked and ruined the lights... thanks a lot no-name company from China! These Nitecore batteries have excellent build quality and long life when fully charged. I first purchased 4, and liked them so much - I got 4 more. Skip the cheap "blue" generics and spend a little more for Nitecore quality.
By TC
So. Cal.
Works great in itp flashlights
March 1, 2019
These Nitecore RCR batteries save money and provide good output and runtime. I have itp flashlights that take one and two CR123 batteries and use these rechargeable batteries in them with no problem.
By Steven O.
San Diego, CA
Nitecore batteries- Exceeding all others
February 25, 2019
I use and have tested many brands of batteries and have always found the Nitecore products to be top tier. They offer the some of the highest ampere hour capacity and maximum discharge rates in the field. I highly recommend Nitecore batteries.
By Tom
Miami
Bright maker
January 19, 2019
Strong battery .big difference from stock battery
By Gil
Milton, FL
This battery works as it should
January 18, 2019
Bought this battery to run my headlight and it works as it should. Recharges as it should.
By Dan
The Dalles, OR
Nitecore NL166 RCR123A / 16340 650mAh 3.7V Protected Lithium Ion (Li-ion) Button Top Battery
October 31, 2018
I am a fan of Nitecores batteries. I have used them for several years now, and have yet to have one go bad on me. Can't say that about some of the other brands out there!
By David
Litchfield Park, AZ
Great Battery
July 20, 2018
I also purchased these batteries for Arlo/Netgear wireless cameras as purchasing the non rechargeable CR123s (Surefire) very quickly eclipses the price of the camera. I've been using two cameras as baby monitors for over 4 years and charge these batteries an average of once a week. With over 200 charges in I have no noticeable loss of performance with what I am using them for.
By BOB C.
SCHAUMBURG, IL
CAN'T BEAT IT
June 12, 2018
GREAT BATTERY. I USE IT IN MY OLIGHT S1 BATON. RECHARGES WELL. ALWAYS RECEIVE FRESH BATTERIES FROM BATTERY JUNCTION. GREAT PRICES AND FAST SHIPPIING.
By Chris
New York City
Great Battery
March 27, 2018
Upon receiving these batteries I tested them in the Olight S1 Baton on Turbo mode. The runtime was 58 minutes which is about what I expected. Many other RCR1213A batteries cannot produce the current necessary to run this light on Turbo but this one can. I charged it up again and it took a full 650mAh charge using the VC4 charger.
Prosas advertised
Consnone
By Phil
Florida
Great battery
December 17, 2017
Long lasting quality battery
By Chris
Denver, Colorado
Good premium 16340
November 23, 2017
Compared to other 16340, this one seems to perform better and maintain constant output when used in my weapon light. Great with used on Olight PL-2 Valkyrie
ProsConstant and reliable output
ConsA lil expensive
By Doug
Tennessee
Will not buy again
August 23, 2017
Bought 12 to try in cameras and only got 8 to charge right out of the box , the ones that did charge didn't last half as long as the regular batteries that are 1/5 the cost. Not worth it.
By Jon P.
California
A bit oversized.
June 17, 2017
Bought these for 5 Arlo security cameras. Some fit okay but others are so tight they will not fit into the the low tolerance camera slots. On one the battery cover tore when I removed it (from the tight fit) and I noticed it had a second labeled cover underneath so it was "double wrapped". This one doesn't really fit in anything including flashlights. The batteries work fine but I tried some Olights and they fit much better so will be switching over to them.
By Gary R.
St. Petersburg, Fl
Power when you need it.
June 6, 2017
My rechargeable battery usage is primarily for flashlights. Living in the lightning/hurricane capitol of the country necessitates that you have adequate batteries to power the lights you need to maneuver safely.
By Marty
Lubec, Maine
Powerful with each recharge , no longer have to buy these batteries
June 6, 2017
Conveniently rechargeable 123A batteries work flawlessly, will buy again
ProsExcellent buy all around
ConsNone
By Steven
NJ
Terrible, don't buy
March 21, 2017
I bought a bunch of these and less than half of them are holding the correct capacity and voltage after about 3 months of use and less than a dozen charge/discharge cycles.
ProsNone
ConsDoesn't hold charge or voltage
By DuWayne
K Town, MN
Think they will work well
March 17, 2017
Have not had a chance to use these batteries yet, still using the ones that came with the flashlight to wear our. I like the idea of not having to go to a store and buy new batteries every time the regular ones die out. Can't compline on the price.
By Bee2011
Newport Beach, CA
Nice quality
March 1, 2017
Works just as described, but don't buy it for the Olight S1R. The max turbo mode won't work.
ProsNice quality at a cheap price.
ConsThe max turbo mode won't work If used with my Olight S1R turbo.
By Terran
New England
One out of two dead after four uses
February 14, 2017
I bought two of these, and one of them died on approximately the 4th charge. It got quite hot, and when I took it off the charger it measured only 4.09 volts. I'm rather glad I caught it before it burned down my house. The other one is still great so far. When working, they provided adequate current to run an Olight S1 on high mode, which requires more than an amp. Although these cells supposedly have a 12 month warranty, it turns out to be worthless in practice. I wrote to the manufacturer, and they said I could either return it to the dealer (batteryjunction says they will accept returns only for the first 30 days) or ship it to them directly in China. It would cost more to ship it to China than it is worth, assuming I could find a carrier willing to ship defective lithium ion cells at any price. It's likely that I just got unlucky and yours will be fine. One can't conclude much statistically with a sample size of 2. Nonetheless my experience did not inspire confidence in their quality control.
ProsProvides high current Protection circuit cuts off when voltage gets low to avoid overdischarge
Cons50% failure rate in my sample Worthless warranty
By Trevor
Rosemount, MN
Good Battery
January 18, 2017
Yes they are $6 for one, but they seem to work well. I wish they they could pack a few more mAh into it for the price.
ProsWorks well
ConsThe Price
By Cheryl
Nashville, TN
Awesome batteries
January 4, 2017
After doing a ton of research on what rechargeable batteries would work with my Arlo camera system, I bought these. They have now been in my cameras for over 2 weeks and still show full charge. I could not be happier. I also bought the NiteCore D4 charger (bought from a different vendor) to charge them.
By OsoBuddy
Columbia, MD
Energy to spare
November 21, 2016
The battery must be charged when taken out of the blister pack. Holds charge for an extended period. Fits Arlo cameras.
ProsPricy
ConsNone
By James S.
York, pa
Great battery, a little long
November 4, 2016
This replaced a 123 battery, but note that they are .15" longer because of the protection board.
ProsGood replacement
ConsYou need to account for the length
By Ron
NEW JERSEY
Just what I ordered
September 20, 2016
Came on time in a sealed blister pack. Opened them up and put them in the charger, and both took a full charge. Used for a small but high lumen flashlight. It is an exact replacement for the ones that came with it. Watch out for cheaper batteries that don't have the same maH rating.
ProsHigh output, rechargeable
Consnone
By Ryan
Howell, MI
A POWERFUL LITTLE GUY!
September 13, 2016
Cant have enough of these around. They really give my lights the best output and lasting strength.
By John
, N. California
Great Battery
June 8, 2016
I would have rated the batteries a 5 star if they were just a little shorter. I got 8 of them for my Arlo-Netgear Wi-Fi cameras. I found that they are just a little longer in length than the standard batteries. They are a very tight fit in the Arlo's. Each battery was packed in a blister pack upon my receiving them. I put them on my Nitecore charger for a full charge, let them rest, and installed them the next day. So far all is good with the Arlo's. I'll see if I can update this review at the time when the batteries need recharged.
Pros650mAh Protected
ConsSlightly longer than the stock commerical batteries, making for a very tight fit.
By Ben
Edmonton, Canada
Great, no reservations, would buy again
February 15, 2016
Works great with the nitecore I2 charger. Charges relatively fast and drains slowly when not in use. Save money and environment with rechargeables!
By Dean
Wantagh, NY
Dead End
December 16, 2015
A good rechargable battery with a major issue. The battery does hold good power right to the end where at that time your flash light will just turn off because loss of sufficient power to run your 1000 lumin high drain light. Now....is this the batteries fault or is this the new Flashlights hitting the market today with the technology that keeps your light from dimming until the end...Do you really want that happening????
ProsA good battery rite to the end... I recommend for household use but have spares.
ConsDies at end of life. Pls read my full comment.
By Michael
Lincoln, NE
Great in my older torch
November 28, 2015
Have a very old, but still unique and useful torch (Striker VG) and was advised I might fry it if I used a newer, hotter 18650. Took a chance on two Nitecore RCR123As and they work great. Buying two more for my single 123A EDCs. This will make me all-rechargeable. I've found every Nitecore device I've purchased through Battery Junction to be first class.
ProsDurable cover. Takes and holds a strong charge.
By bruce
chicago
great battery
November 14, 2015
slightly different size than 123a
By craig
Newmanstown, PA
Great battery
September 19, 2015
With the cost of 123 batteries, buying these has saved me a ton of money and they work and seem to last longer then a non-rechargeable 123 battery.
ProsCost-saving over time; long-lasting
ConsNone
By David
Wichita, Ks
Nitecore RCR123A NL166
July 23, 2015
Nitecore makes some great reliable products, from rechargeable batteries to the lights they power. Nitecore batteries are my preference for quality and reliability.
By Jeff
Young Arizona
Is the light suitable for rechargeable batteries
February 26, 2015
I purchased the NITECORE RCR123A battery to be used in my Streamlite EDC light. When I installed the batteries in the light the light would not work. I then tried the batteries in my SureFire E2D LED defender light and they functioned fine. With a little more research I was told Streamlight and Surefire did not recommend rechargeable batteries for lights that do not initially come with rechargeable batteries. Installing rechargeable batteries in these lights will void the warranty. Be sure the light you are purchasing these batteries for is able to except rechargeable batteries.
ProsI have no input on the long Jevity or the runtime of these batteries.
ConsThey will not work in all whites.
By Joseph F.
Las Vegas
Great rechargeable battery
February 7, 2015
They are good quality rechargeable batteries. Work great with my flashlights and holographic sights!
By Rob
Phoenix, Arizona
Great batteries
January 8, 2015
Put these guys in my streamlight TRL-1 and they work perfectly and last long. Batteries also shipped fast and on schedule.
By Jose H.
Staten Island, NY
Nitecore products rule!
December 23, 2014
Received items in perfect condition and earlier than expected. Batteries work great, have lots of power and last quite awhile. Totally satisfied. Would recommend Nitecore products and Battery Junction as a vendor to anyone who will listen.
ProsTotally satisfied with Nitecore batteries.
ConsNo cons.

Page 1 of 1