4.8
174 Reviews
5
87% (152)
4
9% (15)
3
3% (6)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
89% Recommend this product (155 of 174 responses)
By John
Kenton, OH
Hand Held Search Light!
December 13, 2015
Although it is a little larger than I normally like for a EDC if you want a extremely bright light and a very reasonable price then look no further, this is it.
ProsPrice Beam Throw Modes Brightness
Consnot a one
By wt
Daniels, WV
Great value
December 11, 2015
A solid, no-nonsense 'tactical' light with many many possible applications. I was looking for a 1x18650 light to replace my old and beat up (but still working) powertac E5. This P12's output blows my trusty old light away in its higher output and throw. The P12 makes a great small searchlight. The Black Friday price was too hard to resist, but even at the regular price it is well worth the money. Easy to use controls.
ProsA lot of light for the money. Solid if not generic looks and construction. Easy function. Battery life indicator is a cool feature. Absolutely no rattle with 18650 installed.
ConsA little bigger than I expected, hence it hasn't really replaced my old E5 as my go-to edc. somewhat flimsy pocket clip.
By Jason C.
Sacramento
Nice light but not for me
November 29, 2015
I like the light as a vehicle or camping light but not for EDC/tactical use. The ONLY problem I have with the light is the location and function of the side mode switch. Allow me to explain. I carry the light clipped to the inside of my left pants pocket. I like to keep it in Turbo mode when I carry it in case I need it for self defense purposes. I carry my handgun on my right side. When I grab the light and wrap my fingers around the light, my pinky often times accidentally presses the mode button about the same time my thumb presses the tail cap button. This takes it out of Turbo mode. This is a deal killer for me. I am now testing the Nitecore P10. My favorite light for EDC is currently the Jetbeam BC20 but that light is no longer being manufactured and is only about 305 lumens, but seems brighter. Functionally, the BC20 is perfect as it just has two modes and no weird switches, and I can set the mode before turning it on with a simple twist of the light's head. Unfortunately every manufacturer now wants to build 20 freaken modes into their lights, only two are of any real use.
ConsPlacement and sensitivity of Mode switch
By Michael
Raleigh, NC
I bought two!
October 11, 2015
Very nice flashlight. I like that there is a separate button to change light modes, and the build quality is excellent.
ProsModes; quality; price.
By john t.
Niagara Falls, NY
Quality and brightness
October 2, 2015
Another well-built Nitecore light throws a semi-wide field of light where you want it. The 18650 I use is a TENERGY 2600mah Li-ion 3.7V protected battery, which also I bought from Battery Junction on an order from before. And a Nitecore battery charger D4, which also is from Battery Junction. All in all, a great package. Nice, small size is a plus, along with the belt pouch. The light seems to throw the 232 meters at 1000 lumens with ease. Also, the tail switch is very nice and easy to use, and the side switch for modes and battery level is also a nice feature.
ProsGreat quality; fit and finish; great field of light. And a great price from Battery Junction, makes this a 2015 standout!
ConsNone i can see
By Frank
VA
Serious light!
September 4, 2015
This thing is well built. Puts out a fantastic beam. Very, very bright. Well worth the bucks.
ProsNot real big. Great size & power.
ConsNone
By Chuck
Sidney Ohio
p12 review
September 4, 2015
All good,Nice light for the price.
By Mike W.
Bay Area, California
Great, bright light, lasts long
September 2, 2015
It's just awesome, no more fiddling with multiple cells. Lasts long, has different brightness and modes. I take these camping and leave one in each car.
ProsJust an awesome light, period
ConsCan get pretty warm
By M
Virginia
Great value for a powerful light
September 2, 2015
The design and construction of this light are excellent, and show high quality. Great output from a single LED, with just the right output levels and modes easily available using the combination of tail and side switches. The voltage indication feature is great, also!
ProsQuality construction, power and features
ConsNone
By John R.
Fredericksburg, VA
Best light for the $$$$
August 31, 2015
This is one awesome light. I kept hearing about it and then it went on sale @ 25% off. A slim, powerful light with a top output of 1000 lumens. All the basic modes you'd need, plus an easy interface. My new favorite EDC I got for $42!!
ProsPower level indicator; Nitecore quality; price; 1000 lumens; slim and light.
ConsI only wish it had one more brightness level, before full high.
By Danny
Missouri
Typical Nitecore quality!
August 31, 2015
Excellent medium/small flashlight. Very bright.
By Jack
Alabama
Great light with one tiny issue
August 30, 2015
Love the power and size, just wish you could half-click down from turbo; that's my only complaint. Excellent value.
By Matt
Gilbert, AZ
Bright light
August 17, 2015
This light has five settings. Very low to very bright, then strobe. Small, lightweight. Awesome light at all settings. Very impressed with how bright it gets. Really lights up a large area.
By Ashwani V.
New Jersey
Excellent
August 1, 2015
A great piece.
By Jerry27
Fort Myers, Fl
New & Improved
July 20, 2015
I have the Nitecore EC20 which I really like but putting a tail switch, makes turning it on a real snap. Very Nice Improvement.
ProsBig Plus on the Tail Switch
ConsNone
By Joel
Ca
Excellent flashlight
July 18, 2015
The multiple interface is good and the throw and brightness is excellent.
By Billie
Puyallup, Wa
Awesome
July 10, 2015
Super bright love this light, would buy again. This is my second nitecore and yet to be disappointed with either.
ProsBright, and easy to use
ConsNone
By Dave
winchester, Tennessee
Nitecore P12
July 1, 2015
A very bright and handy flashlight. Would be much more useful if it had a small beam magnifier option for longer distances. A little awkward to use at first, but after getting used to the on-off switch and the mode switch it is a great light.
By SONLEY L.
Corsicana, TX
Nitecor P 12 1000 Lumen flashlight
June 28, 2015
Great light. Almost like a search light.
ProsSmall Works great.
By D C.
Michigan
Utility
June 24, 2015
Great flash light for the cost. The different settings helps with low lighting when needed.
By Donald
Chapel Hill, Tennessee
2015 Nitecore P12
June 19, 2015
The mode switch on side and tailpiece on off is much more user friendly than the side switch only. All modes work great and easily switched between. The 2015 version with the battery level check is a nice feature.
By Greg
United States
Nightcore the best!
June 19, 2015
Great flashlight, easy to operate and very high quality.
Consnone that I could find
By Lee
WV
One Bright Light
June 18, 2015
Great throw. Fits inside hand, one of my favorites
ProsEase of use to toggle through the options
Consdoes get a little warm if kept on highest setting too long
By Chris
Denver, Colorado
One of the best flashlight ever.
June 14, 2015
I currently own 3 Nitecore P-12 (2015). One for every person in my family, its simple and slim and easy to handle. It has a good throw and nice hotspot, also my co- workers like how bright it gets and its modes.
By allan
N Las Vegas, NV
Must Have EDC
June 11, 2015
Just like all the reviews, highly must have. This is my go-to light. Carried it clipped inside pant pocket and don't even feel it's there. Sometimes it's too bright. Low setting is great for reading tags and labels, so it doesn't blind you. High setting is great for looking at something far. It's even brighter with Nitecore 18650 rechargeable battery.
ProsEverything about this flashlight
ConsDidn't find any...
By 1968TET
WA State
A Nice and Bright Light
June 4, 2015
This light is bright at the Max 1000 Lumens. It comes with a variety of accessories and parts such a belt/pocket clip, lanyard, anti-roll / grip ring, extra 'O' ring, extra Button rubber seal. The four (4) settings of light output are adequate with the lowest being being quite 'dim.' The light output is quite 'white' in 'color' and the 'throw distance' for illumination is more than adequate. I have four (4) Fenix lights and this comes a close 'second' if not tied with most all of them.
ProsExtra parts and accessories. Bright.
ConsA bit 'oily' upon receipt around the battery tube access cap. Lanyard cord is a bit thin connecting to light base.
By Jim
California
WOW
May 20, 2015
This is the brightest flashlight I've ever owned, and the smallest. I vape and use the same batteries for both devices. Very happy with this purchase and it shipped fast!!!
ProsSmall,bright,etc.
ConsNope
By Greg
Chester, VA
Fantastic light!
April 25, 2015
Love the 4 levels of brightness as well as the strobe, SOS, and beacon functions. Perfect size for EDC and the sheath and lanyard are great extras for the price. The 1000 lumen strobe function should be an awesome 'weapon' to disable attacker if ever needed.
ProsSize, brightness levels, operating options (strobe, SOS, beacon), sheath, lanyard, and spare O rings and cap for on/off switch.
By dogbar
Sierra Foothills
Well made
April 22, 2015
Bought this for my son for his first high quality light, could tell it was well made just from opening the tail and loading the batteries (careful to remove the silica pack first), love the tail on-off with power level on the side, also remembers which level it was at when turned off then back on.
Prosnice size and brightness levels
Consnone yet
By Curt
San Diego, CA
Excellent light - typical for Nitecore
April 18, 2015
I have several Nitecore lights and this one is a highlight. It has all the power and options that have been the hallmarks of Nitecore. It came with all the parts and clear instructions. Couldn't wait to operate but the output still blew me away. Especially like the 1 lumen "moonlite" beam - just right for middle of the night. Thanks.
By TC
Southern California
Very good torch
March 31, 2015
I like this light for several reasons. Its slim design makes it more edc than those with a wider head. (I also have the P16. See P16 reviews.) The P12 comes with a holster, clip and grip ring, whereas the EC20 does not. (I have the EC20 too. See EC20 review.) Although the P12 is very bright at 1,000 lumens, I feel the P16 at 960 lumens is brighter. Keep in mind, the P16 has a wider head and is a better thrower. Nitecore's feature of the mode switch also being a battery power indicator is very useful to have. The side-mounted mode switch is firm enough where you don't find yourself accidentally changing levels just by touching it. Overall build is very good, as is expected in Nitecore torches.
By James
Illinois
One versitile every day carry.
March 31, 2015
Sometimes I would like a little more power than the Nitecore P20, but still maintain a low pocket profile. The P12 gives 200 extra lumens on the top end, throwing out 1000 lumens with strobe and S.O.S. modes.
ProsThe P12 power options of 1000, 270, 70, and 1 lumen with on / off tail switch and side mounted mode switch.
ConsAbout .5 inches longer than P20
By Matt
Auburn, WA
Lotta light outa small tube!
March 29, 2015
Like the interface and is very small considering it has an 18650 battery. Puts out great light - not sure how good it throws yet haven't really played with it yet other than testing. Really like the kit came with holster and lanyard too.
By Bruce
Santa Rosa, CA
Does everything its supposed to
March 26, 2015
Good features and easy to use. Seems to be very well built.
By John
California
Well made & powerful
March 14, 2015
This flashlight fits in your hand, has good features and is extremely bright on its most powerful setting. It only can b\e used on that setting for a short time, due to the heat it generates. I really enjoy the ability to have a soft light as well as a very powerful searching beam.
ProsStands upright. Powerful, excellent beam pattern
By Brian
Saginaw, MI
Nitecore P-12 2015 edition
February 18, 2015
Here it goes, Of course when I ordered this I was so excited to get it, I was like a kid waiting for Christmas. You flashaholics know that feeling! I read every single review on this site. Come down to it, it just seemed to be a solid light with a pretty great review status. So I finally get in the mail! ( Battery Junction Was Great By the way with fast shipping) Rip the box open look at the instructions quickly to make sure there is nothing I need to do special before I put batteries in and fire it up. Then I remembered an important tip from a review on here, TAKE OUT THE DESICCANT PACK IN THE LIGHT BODY. I thought no problem, grabbed my long narrow hemos and grabbed it, when i went to gently pull up i only came up with small pieces. The desiccant pack had an adhesive on it and was stuffed so far down the tube it was packed tight in there. OK kinda frustrating, but got it cleaned out, no prob. Its time to to put in my fully charged 18650. Yes, finally I put the tail cap on, hold it in my hand, wait for it, wait for it, AAANNNDD , Nothing! OK I thought. It has to be the battery, not all batteries work perfectly in every device. I tried an Efest in there, nothing, tried some brand new CR123's, nothing. Cleaned the contact on the light with some pro electrical contact cleaner, nothing. I worked on it for over an hour. OK at that point it was painfully clear it had to just plain be D.O.A unit . With a tear in my eye, I packed it back up to send in for an exchange. So I get the boxe all packed up, the right papers, taped all up. Then I went online and looked at other reviews for this light on other web sites. I just couldn't give up. And i'm glad i didn't. There it was tons of different reviews with one thing in common , DOA units. And the solution! THIS LIGHT HAS 2 PARTS OF THE TUBE that come apart.! And tons of reviews said if you just take off and tighten the middle(head end) section it works great, they just don't tighten them down at the factory.I did not even know that this light had un-screwable sections other than the tail cap. Could it really be that easy? I ripped open my box again, took it out, and sure enough, they unscrew! Took it off re-tightened, put in battery, tightened the tail cap and clicked it on. I think i heard Angels sing when the light poured out of this unit Yes! It was beautiful! Oh and another thing, when you get yours, unscrew the sections first and that pesky little desiccant pack, well that makes it a whole lot easier to get. The light works great , all functions, great light output, very bright. switch and buttons worked fine. On the durability, well that's to be determined, I also read a lot of reviews other places that said a small 12 inch drop will make it a $60 paperweight real quick? So anyway, I do love the light. You will be amazed at the quality of light this thing produces. But Please !!! If you get one, unscrew both sections, take out desiccant pack,re-tighten both sections, put in battery, and ENJOY !!!!!
ProsVery bright , very compact , ease of use, cycle options
ConsHigh or Turbo Mode only stays on for 2 minutes. Nowhere does it warn of retightening Both sections for possible contact problems.
By Jeff
Ottawa, OH
My favorite torch!
February 12, 2015
Using this beauty for 6-8 weeks. Seems solid enough nice throw. Short learning curve on the options. Could spend more but not sure why. Buy this and enjoy!
By Big K.
Silverdale, WA
Fantastic Flashlight
February 6, 2015
Have some experience with other brands of high output flashlights (all great), the Nitecore P12 performed better! Better light throw, beam pattern and intensity. Even in low light situations the light from this flashlight was bright and strong. Very easy to adjust between levels. Standing in the rain did not affect the operation at all. The flashlight body is narrow enough to fit just about any of the narrow belt holders. I've found the included nylon holder has a tight body where you don't have to use the velcro'd strap to secure the flashlight from falling out during normal crawling and climbing. The construction appears to be capable of withstanding the normal wear and tear of daily use.
Proslight output size beam pattern operation
Consnone noted
By Bill
Pleasanton, CA
Good carry, but the switch ?
January 27, 2015
I have found this to be an excellent carry when doing my rounds at the local church. However, the tail switch sometimes does not function correctly. I've needed to twist the body to get a solid connection. I suspect it is the formation of AlOx in the thread areas of the package or perhaps the anodize in the thread area that needs to be shielded during the anodize process. This same area could be e-Beam sputtered with copper to solve both or either of these problems. Still it's a solid carry in a very powerful package.
Prossolid small package. very powerful.
ConsTail switch intermittent.
By Dane
United States
First "real" light...Thing is amazing!
January 26, 2015
Holy cow, it's bright! Love that it remembers the last setting it was on when you turn it off... Tail stand ability is great. I attached a tritium fob to mine and never leave home without it now! 10/10
ProsRock Solid Bright Lots of Modes and Functions Lasts forever on my Sony VCT5 batteries.
ConsWont make me coffee
By Greg
Franklin, GA
Nitecores best light so far
January 24, 2015
I mounted it on my Mossberg 500 shotgun. It is super bright light and handles the recoil well.
By Greg
Forest Hill, MD
Awesome!
January 23, 2015
Great little EDC light. Actually a little smaller than I thought it would be, but I like the size. Fit and finish is flawless.4 brightness modes and secret strobe modes that can be activated by holding the side switch. Very bright little light!
ProsTwo switches, a tail clicky to turn the light on,and a side switch to cycle through the modes. Super bright for a small light! Side switch blinks blue when pressed together with tail switch to give you the battery voltage. IE, 4 blinks and a pause then one blink would be 4.1 V pretty clever.
ConsTail clicky is pretty firm. Not a big deal though.
By Charles B.
United States
Awesome Flashlight
January 20, 2015
It is very well done, directions are good, sturdy, and comes with nice accessories like a holder.
ProsExcellent operating flashlight
ConsNA
By James
Shiloh, NJ
Big light in small package.
January 16, 2015
Very happy with this light. I was impressed by by the power this small in the hand light shines.I like the side switch for the controls. I will get a second one for the house.
Prosvery bright, easy switch for light options.
Consnone
By Craig A.
Los Angeles, CA
Excellent flashlight
January 12, 2015
I love this new Nitecore P12 2015 edition! I have had many Surefire flashlights of a similar size and design, but this product has all the best features. I experiment by buying the very inexpensive 1000 lumen drop-in replacement bulbs from China. Sometimes they work, sometimes not so well. I would never carry a flashlight on a trip with one of these cheap bulbs. Just when you need it, it doesn't work. You can unscrew the inexpensive bulb and put it back in and it may or may not work. The P12 2015 edition always works perfectly and stays on the light mode you want. Some other flashlight need to cycle through all the modes to get back where you want it. A big pain in the butt. The other inexpensive bulbs claim 1,000 lumens and the P12 is a little bit brighter. My favorite small flashlight which has 1,000 lumens on high, but 520 hour rating on the 1 lumen setting plus all the other modes. Highly recommended. Craig in Los Angeles
By bill
Wittmann, AZ
Great Value for the money
January 11, 2015
I was looking for a good, reliable, and very bright flashlight but really wasn't in the mood to pay a ridiculous amount of money. I saw this one on sale and given the features advertised, the price looked right. I'm very glad I purchased this light. It was well worth the money. It's built well and is extremely bright. I'm going to buy more.
ProsValue for the money.
By Johnny
Cordele, GA
Great Light
January 10, 2015
Controls very easy to use for different functions. As usual good service on this order.
ProsBright, easy to change settings
By TOM
NEPA
Small-N-Bright
January 9, 2015
Have the EA41/SRT7 and this one. This one will be attached to my xbow due to it being the smallest of the 3 and, brightness between the 3 is really splitting hairs for my intended use of this item. This is the outdoors-mans high end flashlight model to own. imho
ProsSmall mag light size but 50x the light.
ConsIt gets hot if you leave it in turbo for extended time.
By JohnW
Virginia
Can't get better than this.
January 8, 2015
Thoroughly awesome light. I gave one to my son who's a chopper pilot and he loves it , so I had to get another one for myself. I used to, back in the day, just get the mag light incandescent flashlights and I came here one day just to find weird sized batteries since I didn't want to pay $8 for a tiny watch battery. I was just browsing the flashlights and discovered this entirely new world of these LED flashlights that blow the old style 'rodney king' flashlights away. This one is the best bang for your buck by far.
ProsBright, adjustable , small, comes with spare parts
Consnone
By drw
Vassar, KS
Nitecore P12 2015 Edition
January 7, 2015
Only flashlight I have found that works on my AR and forearm grip. Really like the foreward control switch.

Page 2 of 4
2