4.8
174 Reviews
5
87% (152)
4
9% (15)
3
3% (6)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
89% Recommend this product (155 of 174 responses)
By karl
, Texas
1000 lumens
January 7, 2015
These are great Nitecore flashlight. They throw great and have very good flood illumination also when used at full power. The side switch is very ergonomic. Have lots of lights but these are some of my favorite. I ordered 2 of them.
By Hook
Wichita, KS
Excellent flashlight!
January 6, 2015
Great light with easy to use on/off switch on the end of the flashlight. Remembers the light setting previously set. Yea!
ProsGreat well made flashlight and easy to use.
ConsNone!
By Irving(Irv) Y.
KIngman, AZ
Further Improvement
January 6, 2015
I have used the new P12 for only a few days, however, it's switching appears smarter for my use....than say the EC20. It's much harder to turn on accidently than flashlights like the EC20 & some others. Also, the side-swich selects the strobe mode in any side-switch position which is helpful in emergencies.
ProsSwitching
By Ron
Munith, MI
P12!!!
January 6, 2015
I'm very happy with the cost of this highly portable light. It's probably one of my favorite flaslights by far!!
By Ike
MD
Quality at the right price
January 5, 2015
1000 lumens, well I have no idea if it is true but it seems brighter than my 800 and 900 lumen lights. This flashlight has a lot to offer. Nitecore quality has surprised me as the construction and durability seem on par with my surefire lights but a much less the cost. The beam is nice, white, wide, and bright. Heck its brighter than my head lights and the spot lights on the side of my house. I'm not a big fan of the side button (little hard to locate in a pinch) but easy enough to use and get the feel. The clip just snaps on and therefore just snaps off. Takes a bit of force but might make for a situation where you go for your light and find it was snagged and all you have is a clip left. Check the battery chamber for a desiccant packet before popping your first battery in or you are liable to get those darn little balls all over the place while coming up with a creative way to remove the rest of the bag.
ProsGood quality Water proof Uses 18650 and CR123/SR123 batteries probably more very bright Fairly wide beam
Consattachable clip easily detached
By Joseph
Cincinnati, OH
Very bright
January 3, 2015
Works perfectly very bright and solid beam. Remaining voltage feature very handy. Like the emergency features, SOS and beacon.
ProsVery bright, signals when remaining voltage is low, battery voltage gauge and emergency features.
By Mark
Helotes, TX
Bright, Simple, and Versatile
January 1, 2015
I bought this light and a similar Fenix PD35 2014 edition around the same time. They are similar size and brightness (the Fenix is 960 lumens). This light is cheaper than the Fenix and will stand on its end. I'm not sure I'll ever need to stand it on end but I like the feature.
ProsPrice, brightness, stands on end, tail cap push button on-off with side selector switch
ConsNone so far.
By David P.
Tuppers Plains, OH
Great light!
December 31, 2014
Look no further for the best EDC lite available, considering size, ease of operation, brightness, and price.
By Larry
LaGrange, North Carolina
The Nitecore P12 Is A Winner
December 31, 2014
The Nitecore P12 Quality Was Second To None And The Brightness Of This Light Was Unbelievable. I Am Very Happy With This Flashlight !
ProsBuild Quality, Brightness Are Outstanding
ConsNone
By SEN
Los Angeles, CA
Great product
December 30, 2014
As advertised! Compact, powerful flashlight.
ProsCompact. Simple to use features.
ConsNone.
By Ron
Anchorage
Bright light for its size!
December 29, 2014
Sturdy construction but could be built tougher for drops and knocks. Very good light output for its small size. Almost compact enough to carry in your pocket. Brought two of these to ship oversees to my in-laws for occasional power outages. Will be buying additional lights from Nitecore for myself and friends.
ProsEase of use!
ConsMake it stronger for drops and knocks!
By Woody
Houston, Tx.
Very bright light.
December 27, 2014
Easy to operate, nice size, clip and cord nice add-ons. Good buy for money. Customer service was exceptional.
ProsSize, strength of light, clip, price.
ConsNone so far
By Chuck O.
United States
Great Light
December 26, 2014
Very light weight and very bright. Love the Mode button on the side!
ConsPoor sheath for such a great light
By Wayne
Kent, WA
Powerful Light!
December 25, 2014
This is the updated version of this flashlight and now has 1000 lumens. It is extremely bright and will light up anything you need to see.
ProsSmall size Powerful Well built
ConsNone
By Tom
Pittsburgh Pa.
Nitecore P12
December 24, 2014
Great light for the price. Very bright.
ProsCan use CR123 batteries or16850 batteries.
ConsNone
By Doug F.
Lorain, Ohio
Excellent Flashlight
December 24, 2014
This very powerful flashlight has a side switch for changing mode which allowas the on off switch to control the selected mode, a great feature when you don't have time to cycle through multiple modes.
ProsSide mode select switch. 1000 lumens.
By Treeman
NC
Only works with CR123 batteries
December 24, 2014
Works fine with CR123 batteries but will not work with the 18650,this battery came out of my fenix pd35.and yes it was a fully charged 18650
Prosseems to be a good light overall, just disappointed that the 18650 rechargeable won't work in it.
By J
DFW, TX
Don't Drop It
December 20, 2014
I'm a Police Officer in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex and I purchased this light when I switched to night shift. The simplicity, functionality, and brightness of the light was great, and I like the 18650 rechargeable batteries. One night (about 1 month after I bought it) while changing a flat tire, I knocked the light out of its holster and it fell from my duty belt to the pavement and broke. I couldn't see anything physically wrong with it but it would not come on after that. Battery Junction was great and took it back with no problem and refunded my money. I picked up a Jetbeam instead and have not had any problems with it. This light would be ok for EDC for a business person or someone who's not going to bang it around, but not for serious duty. Bottom line: if a light can't handle being dropped, I don't want it.
ProsSimple and convenient operation, size, brightness
ConsToo fragile for duty use
By thegarman
Orlando
A great "bang-for-the-buck" flashlight!
December 16, 2014
After researching the "best 1x18650 flashlight" for days, I ended up buying the Nitecore P12 to replace my JetBeam BC40. While the BC40 is a great light for what it does, I wanted a smaller, shorter light that was also in the 1000 lumen range. For my needs, the PC12 is perfect!
Pros1000 lumens 4 light settings (1000, 240, 70 and 1 lumen) Strobe, SOS and Becon 1x18650 small size nice case & accessories
ConsNone at this time
By bigb
Honolulu, HI
My new EDC!
December 12, 2014
I really like this light. Compact, easy to use, and amazingly bright with great run time. I use it as my edc and just like how easy it is to use. Again great light and I highl recommend this great light.
By Kent
Texas
Excellent value
December 11, 2014
Very good price for a full featured light. Excellent brightness, clean design, reasonable size. Not too big to be an EDC light but enough power for almost every situation. I also like the "moonlight" setting. Having a low power option is almost as important to me as the high lumen output. I have become a real Nitecore fan in the last year. Fifteen years ago I do not think many of us saw the amazing quality and features coming to hand held lights.
ProsHigh power output And a very low output option Solid construction fits the hand well. Light weight, good balance. Good price to quality
ConsSome may find the rear on button to be slightly stiff, Others will be fine with it.
By Bob
Anchorage, AK
Fantabulous Flashlight that everyone should own
December 10, 2014
I have two of these flashlights now. They are my number one "go-to flashlight" for camping, around home use, and for my bug-out bag. I especially like the 1 lumen light for navigating my dark house in the early morning. You really can't go wrong with this torch. There are other great lights out there but Nitecore really nailed the feature set on this one. I will be buying two more for my kids in the very near future.
By ANTHONY
UNION, OH
Super flashlight
December 10, 2014
Nice little flashlight, comes with lanyard, holster, tactical ring, spare tail cap, and two spare O rings. Throws a nice beam for a small light but I'm not sure it's 1,000 lumens as advertised. Can be used with rechargeable 18650 batteries or CR123 batteries.
ProsCompact, can be used with rechargeable or regular CR123 batteries. Comes with holster, spare O rings, lanyard, spare tail cap, and clip. Turn on/off via tail button switch and has a nice handle based switch to go from low to medium to high beams easily.
ConsDoesn't seem to be 1,000 lumens but it's a good beam of light for such a small flashlight.
By Scott
Allegan, MI
All the modes, none of the hassle
December 10, 2014
This light is great. The light settings are easy to access, no turning a head and clicking this and that. Just turn it on, push the button and access the light modes. The top mode is super bright. I have not used the "test" feature yet.
ProsMode access, low and high settings.
ConsThe sheath, it is terrible, not worth using. Buy a Maxpedition 5" light sheath, it will serve you much better than the one provided.
By Flashlight G.
Oregon
Smart Design
December 9, 2014
This product is not only bright and reliable, its functional design is brilliant. The momentary on/off tactical switch is precisely how I want my light to work; and the separate Mode switch provides the variable lighting levels without interfering with the on/off switch through its independent operation. Other lights use the on/off switch to move between modes by momentary tapping of the switch, which can be accidentally done when using the light in a momentary off/on fashion. Separating the mode function and on/off functions is brilliant and works beautifully.
Prosbright reliable smart functionality
Conslimited maximum brightness duration due to intentional dimming for overheating protection caused by the limited heat dissipation of the small form factor
By Steve
Arizona
Great light
December 9, 2014
I really like this flashlight. It's lightweight and the side button makes selecting the brightness mode very easy. It is super bright in it's bright mode, and I appreciate the low light mode too.
By Joseph
La Palma, CA
Amazing power and features.
December 9, 2014
This light is so small the head is the same size as the body tube. It fits in ones pocket with no head bulge. Low power is Moonlight for privacy. The center of the beam is concentrated and with 1000 lm its throw is amazing. Press the tail and side switches together and the side switch blinks out the remaining voltage to the nearest tenth of a volt so you don't have to take the battery out to check it. The switch even flashes on its own when the power is very low. I specifically ordered this light because it had a tail cap switch for use with a handgun and was pleased to find that the strobe has memory, even with a partial press. Wow for anyone that wants this for defense. I bought mine on sale or should I say it was a steal and worth every penny.
By HAD2
New York
Powerful Little Light
December 4, 2014
I have a number of similar flashlights, but this is the only one that has a side button besides a tail cap. I like the added functionality you get from this configuration, not to mention that the light is incredibly bright for its size. There are many modes, including four light levels (one of which can be memorized as the default when turned on), a strobe, SOS and one that I have never had, an emergency beacon, which is an intermittent momentary bright pulse. Many of my other lights require turning the front part of the barrel to change modes. I am hoping that despite the two-button operation the light is durable and dependable. For the money, this is one very good general purpose light.
ProsExtremely bright at highest setting Some will love the side button operation besides the tail cap Multiple modes Compact
ConsTail cap must be pressed before side button can be used to cycle through modes and after use to turn off
By T R.
Nashville, TN
Great EDC flashlight
December 1, 2014
very light weight and very bright. Like the Mode button on the side
By Larry
Fort Collins, CO
Very Good
November 29, 2014
For the money I think this is a very good deal. A friend that did a lot of research on flashlights told me about the P12. Most lights like this one are very expensive. Battery Junction has the latest 2015 model.
By Jimmy
California
Great light
November 28, 2014
I bought this to install on my duty rifle. The light is bright and will blind someone in a yard and bright enough to search a field.
By Chad
Northern Wisconsin
Awesome little light
November 25, 2014
I have owned numerous Surefire lights and decided to take a chance on a "cheaper" light. Man am I glad that I did. This light is simply amazing. The 4 light levels along with the 1000 lumens make for an outstanding flashlight. I have already made up my mind that seem of my family will be getting these for Christmas.
Pros1000 lumens 4 different output levels Battery strength indicator light. Very durable Great price
ConsNone
By David
Demorest, GA
Can you say BRIGHT
November 20, 2014
I've had this flashlight just a few days so I cannot attest to things like battery life. What I can say the the quality of the flashlight is high, it fits in the palm of your hand and the 4 light levels should allow extended battery life unless you run it on the highest setting. But if you need all those lumens...well, it is bright! Now looking at other Nightcore flashlights.
Prossize, different light levels including strobe,SOS, and beacon
Consnone yet
By Mark F.
Shawnee, KS
Fantastic everyday carry!
November 14, 2014
I have been a verified flashlight snob/nerd for the past 30 years and find the P12 to be an awesome all around winner. The wide range of modes from a single lumen to 1,000 lumens covers virtually any need, short of maybe search and rescue. (Frankly, I'm fascinated by the moonlight mood for some odd reason. It's incredibly useful at the bedside table and the faint purple tinge as it glows around the bezel is mesmerizing to look at. Told you I was a nerd.) As the owner of a small hardwood floor business and having always been a bit of a handyman, I easily find myself using it a dozen times a day. So if anyone ever asks why I carry such a serious flashlight all the time, they better be ready to sit down and hear me out. The slim size, lack of a wider head, and quality of the holster, makes it easy to slip on your belt and forget it's there until you need it. The rear clicky switch has a solid feel and the side mode switch gives freedom to select and memorize the last mode used for next time. I love that it can take both the rechargeable 18650's as well as the 123's, and went ahead and bought a charger and a couple of the Olight 3400mah batteries to give me some extended use for mountain biking and hiking. The voltage check mode is easy to use and literally lets you know where you are to a tenth of a volt, brilliant! For the price, this unit is in a class by itself and I couldn't be happier with my purchase. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
By Levi
Oregon
Brightest Little Light
November 11, 2014
This thing is brighter than my spotlight! The different mode settings are a huge plus. Four brightness level give me the right amount of light for any situation. I did alot of research and for the money, you can't beat this light.
By John
Taylor, MI
Small with punch
November 10, 2014
No expert here, but this light is bright and small enough to carry most anywhere.
By Oliver
Las Vegas, NV
Pocket Sunlight
November 9, 2014
I purchased this first on one of the regular, awesome flash sales that Battery Junction does here and there and it might just have been an impulse purchase. Even though I am happy with it, I seem to like its lower powered sibling, the P10 having a bit more simplified operation with a dedicated strobe button. This P12 has a side switch that also acts as a battery indicator in response to a series of push button procedures that you can figure and follow to indicate power reserve for your source. It does not have a dedicated strobe function like the less inexpensive and lesser output P10, which makes up a small upside trade as it does offer a 1 watt function that can be used for longer periods as a night light for a weekend of camping or for anything that can use a firefly mode of some sort. It is well built rivaling its more expensive domestic US made counterparts and gone are the days of those cheapo, breaks in one day, kind of chicom, rimpac products.
ProsBright, pocket sunlight EDC, side battery reserve indicator, pocket clip and 1 watt function.
ConsNo dedicated strobe button and non crenulated head which is not a big deal at all.
By Edward
Randolph, MA
had to return
November 7, 2014
Very little difference in out put from the P12. Out of the box the light over heated to the point you could not hold it. Also, it didn't seem to switch through different modes as easy as the P12.
Conslight overheated
By dduck44
Detroit
Great Product
November 7, 2014
I'm not that well versed in flashlights but I consider this a good and solid product well worth the money.
By Geoffrey
Baltimore, Maryland
Fantastic Light
November 7, 2014
Excellent fit and finish. Very bright. Nice hotspot with plenty of spill. No green ring on beam. Best thing in my book, a simple UI. Click the rear button for on off. Click the side button to cycle through the modes. My new EDC. Buy it, you'll love it.
ProsBright, Simple UI
By Chet
United States
Nitecore P12 2015
November 6, 2014
Great little light and a great price on sale!
By eTripper
Livonia, MI
A lot of bang for the buck!
November 6, 2014
I've been looking at Nitecore' for a while now, and when I saw this promo, I decided to pull-the-plug, so to speak. My initial expression about this brand is a very high-quality item, with great attention to ergonomics. All the controls are conveniently located, and operation is pretty much straight-forward. Unit is supplied with a decent holster for belt-ware, and the obligatory lanyard/o-ring/rubber tailcap parts. Nitecore's lumen ratings are a little over-stated by about 60, but this is insignificant to my purposes as an EDC light. Posted information about this light, and it's purchase on the 'tactical forum' that I frequent.
ProsAs stated above, great ergonomics. Torch is not too big, or too small. Easy carry on belt, jacket, shirt-pocket, or in mil-spec pants. Should work great as a 'weapons light' with the right mount. It's self-evident, the 'flashlight' is manufactured under high Q/C standards, and very easy to understand instructions. This would be a great tool for IT/Telephony technicians who often find themselves in dark closets, or where lighting is poor behind cabinets, and furniture. I have slightly larger hands, and the torch feels like it was custom-made, and delivers no 'hot-spots' when gripping it.
ConsI felt the 'pocket clip' could be a little more stronger, other than that, no additional gripes, or qualms with this torch.
By Michael G.
Wilton, Connecticut
Another Winner from Nitecore!
November 5, 2014
Great LED flashLight runs on the popular 18650 Li-ion rechargeable battery. The PC20 is another NiteCore winner that's about the same sIze as the P12.
ProsFour brightness settings Lightweight One inch diameter About five inches long -- fits in your hand Two switches - one for setting brightness, one for ON and OFF The list is endless, like all other Nitecore flashlights
ConsCannot think of any.
By Harvey
Mahopac, New York
Great Flashlight
November 5, 2014
I have purchased other flashlights from your website over the last two years. This one is an excellent product just as the others were. It is light, sturdy, and extremely powerful. Keep up the good work of offering superior products at reasonable prices.
ProsRugged. Well designed. Great power. Easy to switch from one mode to another.
ConsNone.
By Paul
Superior, WI
Nitecore P12
November 4, 2014
Great light very bright, hardly weighs anything Would recommend to anyone looking
By Sean
Orlando, FL
Best all around light!
October 25, 2014
This is one of my EDC lights. With 950 lumens, I have enough power to light up anything infront of me. When the ride broke down on a major Orlando attraction, this was the light I grabbed to look around!
By Mark
Northeast
Pound for pound awesome !
October 7, 2014
Great light. Really packs a punch. You don't realize just how bright it is until compared to others in the same size class. Simple functions . Little too long for EDC front pocket carry but makes for a great night stand jacket pocket light.
By John
Houston, Texas
A Lightsaber!
September 14, 2014
This little thing packs an unbelievable punch! When I showed my next door neighbor how bright it was, he ordered one for himself. It looks like a little light saber! This little light is the brightest one I've seen yet for an LED light. It rivals anything out there for its size.
ProsThe machining is outstanding on this flashlight. It's a real work of art.
By Van
Buford, GA
Nitecore P12
September 13, 2014
Decided to get the Nitecore P series with the newer LED to replace my aging Klarus XT's. I am very happy with quality, illumination and battery life. I like program button on the side cause it has an easier interface.
By D J.
Jax Florida
Love my Nitecores
September 10, 2014
I really like this light a lot. The output is great. (950 lumens nice!) The layout of the buttons are the best. The different modes are very usable. I really like the 1 lumen Low mode. It's great for a dark bridge at night when you just need a little light to see your way around without ruining your night vision. Light, small and compact but still uses a 18650 battery.
ProsPros: 950 lumens,1 lumen, light weight 3 oz, side switch interface and tail cap on/off switch.
Consnone

Page 3 of 4
3