4.8
174 Reviews
5
87% (152)
4
9% (15)
3
3% (6)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
89% Recommend this product (155 of 174 responses)
By Chuck
NE Ohio
Bright thrower
September 8, 2014
A well built, very bright (w/Li-ion 18650) thrower. Didn't have problem the of a dark center as I'd read of others, spill is wide, foreground periphery is well lit. Gave it four of 5 because a smaller cigar ring is made of plastic (surprised/disappointed) and it's a little too large for an EDC, for me anyway. Still, will make a good ready bag light, with batteries stored alongside.
ProsBright, solid
ConsSmaller, plastic cigar ring; too big for EDC
By Richard T.
Corpus Christi, TX
Great EDC
September 5, 2014
My beloved Jetbeam Raptor R0 was starting to show its age, and it was time to look for a new EDC. I wanted to step up to a higher lumen level, but that meant moving from a single CR123 to an 18650-based light. I had been thinking about a new light when I saw the Nitecore P12. This really fit the bill. While the light was going to be longer because of the bigger battery, I still wanted a light to clip into my back pocket. The problem with most high lumen 18650 lights is that they have an emitter head that is much bigger than the barrel. Not good for pocket carry. The Nitecore P12 is the same diameter down its entire length...the emitter head is the same size as the barrel! That really sold me on the light, but I really like some of the other features as well. The tail switch is easy on/off, and the switch at the front easily cycles the light modes. The forward switch is lit with a blue light when the unit is on, and the blue light will begin to flash when the battery is down to 50%. You can also use the front switch to get a battery voltage reading, which is not only way cool but also just plain useful. I've been EDC-ing this light for several months now, and I really enjoy it. It is one of those pieces of gear that, if I lost or broke it, I would go out and buy another one to replace instead of looking for something else. It's that good!
By Chuck
NJ
Great all around flashlight
September 5, 2014
Quit saving knives and started saving flashlights years ago. This little bugger is right at the top of my list. For a small carry around it packs a wallup with many handy features. No it is not a diving light nor does it claim to be. But for on land and every day use it's a great deal.
By Allen C.
California
I bought 2 Nitecore P12s. Both of them broke.
August 30, 2014
I bought one P12 in May 2014 on the staff's recommendation. It broke after a couple weeks. The plastic cap on the underside of the lamphead broke, and now when I attempt to turn on the light, it flickers once and remains off. I bought another one in July 2014, and pretty much the same thing happened.
ProsCheap
ConsReally cheap
By Matlock
Decatur, IL
This is the best flashlight I've bought yet
August 30, 2014
This is a great flashlight. The size is ideal and the separate mode switch is convenient for changing the intensity between the 4 output levels. The thing I didn't realize was it also has an interesting way to communicate the battery voltage level by blinking a small led under the mode switch. This is handy to know whether to change batteries or recharge a 18650 if you decide to buy a charger and a rechargeable battery.
ProsLight Intensity switch located conveniently 4 output levels battery indicator by counting blinks for volts and tenths of a volt Size
By Ed
San Diego, Ca
Perfect flashlight for home use.
August 27, 2014
Great flashlight for a great price...Thanks for the recommendation!
ProsThree useful power levels, great price, compact size and solidly built. The 900 lumen setting is like a searchlight!
By Jack
Summit, NJ
Big Light in a Small Package
August 24, 2014
I have had this for a couple of weeks now and absolutely love it. Can't say enough about all the features but what I like best is that you can partially depress the end switch to get a quick bit of light when needed. I use it for walking the dogs and they know when I light them up it's time to get moving. Just a quick press on the end and that's all they need. Good bang for the buck even though it seems expensive. I use an 18650 rechargeable battery in mine.
ProsGreat features. Very bright when you need it and easy to tone it down if you just need just a bit of light. It's small enough to slip into a pocket but has the power of the big lights I have.
ConsNone really although the lanyard and the clip aren't of much use (to me) but that's just a personal preference.
By Les
Spalding, Michigan
awsome light in a compact and reasonably priced package
August 20, 2014
I use this light daily, but bought it primarily for use in my work as a fire fighter. It's most unique feature is the ability to select one of the lighting options, and have that option remain in effect until you change it, as opposed to so many other lights where each time you turn it on and off the lighting function changes. This light is extremely bright and is also well adapted for use as a tactical, as in self defense, situations.
Prosvery well made, sensible lighting functions which are easily selected and remain in effect until you change them. very reasonably priced for all the features you get.
Consnone that I can come up with.
By Keith
,
Hot-o-mighty
August 19, 2014
Great light, good beam and small size
By D G.
Huntsville,Texas USA
Excellent little EDC.
August 10, 2014
Purchased this Nitecore P12 because my EagleTac finally give out. Great size and functionality. I've read on some reviews where the beam produced a dark spot in the center of the beam but the one I have does not. Perfect beam all the way! I carry this light everywhere I go 24/7. I always wear carpenter pants and even have a few pairs Deluth fire hose pants with multiple pockets and the P12 fit's perfectly in a side pocket. I've had several people over the years ask me, "Why do you carry a flashlight?" Well you never know when you'll need to illuminate something be it something you dropped down and engine or behind a wall or whatever! I never go anywhere without my little partner and the Nitecore P12 will be with me a long time!
ProsExcellent size & functionality.
ConsTheir aren't any.
By Bill
NY
Perfect combination of size and power
July 6, 2014
Bright yet rather compact -- great for its size. I really like that it remembers what power level it's at across on/off cycles and it's so easy to change brightness levels. The firefly level is a good nightlight which will stay on for a week for camping or power outages and the higher power is there when you need it. Also well built and strong. The voltage level indicator is a nice touch. Really a good balance of ruggedness, brightness, usability and size/weight!
ProsComes with extra O rings and extra switch cap.
ConsOptional neck strap is nothing special. Need to be sure cap is screwed on tightly.
By Anomynous
East Coast, U.S.
My #1 EDC Light
May 27, 2014
I own and have used several different high-tech flashlights, and this one has quickly moved to the forefront of my little army of lights. It is the brightest light I have in this size class, and the mode selection process is excellent because it totally avoids having to cycle through anything to get right to the mode I was last using. The wide range of brightness levels it provides has settings that are suitable for every application from using it for a nightlight in a pitch dark room, to cranking it up for use on city streets where a flashlight has to compete with sodium vapor street lights and vehicle lights to be of any use to the human eye (a milieu in which our eyes adjust to the bright city lights which renders standard-power flashlights useless, so it takes a light like the P12 to 'cut into' the shadows, see inside a vehicle, check the outside of a building, etc.). The light is also standard rated water-resistant. One unique feature I like is the locator beacon, which emits a single strobe flash every couple seconds. That could be a lifesaver if you're off the road, down over a bank disabled along the highway, lost in the woods, or just about in any situation where you want backup or rescuers to find you and you might not be able to otherwise get their attention. The blinking low-battery/voltage indicator is also an unexpected surprise and lets me know when I can expect to need a battery change/recharge. The versatility of the light to accept a range of different batteries including primary and rechargeable is a huge plus. Since it can use primary CR123A's, I can recommend it to my friends whom I would hesitate to recommend using rechargeable Li-Ion batteries because I don't think those particular folks might be willing to follow safety protocols with the Li-Ion rechargeables - they'll be fine with the primary CR123A's. I keep it on a lanyard around my neck when I work at night, clipped into my shirt so it won't get dropped as it is a tool I value very highly. Thanks, Nitecore, for designing a front-runner tactical light.
ProsSmall, BRIGHT, lightweight, durable, water-resistant, versatile, unique features, and a great no-b.s. mode selection process
ConsThe edges of the anti-roll ring are a little severe on the fingers. The light color temperature seems a little greenish to my eyes (may just be me), but certainly not a deal-breaker.
By CT
NJ
Nitecore P12 - excellent for EDC
May 21, 2014
I love this small yet powerful flashlight. Just bought another one in fact as a gift to my parents. I also have the Fenix PD35 which I like a lot, but ended up carrying the P12 more often nowadays. The max brightness levels are pretty similar betwen the two. Although the P12 is rated 960 lumens while PD35 is only rated at 850, they are pretty much the same brightness level to human eyes. There are a few things that made me carry P12 more often than the PD35: its built in voltage meter for battery strength, the beacon mode for signaling, the memory feature for strobe so I can access it with the 'momentary on' half press of the tail button. That is very handy when you need it quick. Overall, the light is perfect for EDC. I even mount it on my bike when riding at dusk and it lights up the whole path before me like the head lamp of a car! The max output of 950 lumens only lasts about 3 minutes before it steps gradually down (to avoid overheat) to about 450 lumens where it will stay for another 30 minutes or so. Since it is gradual, human eyes really cannot detect the change. So, even though there seems to be a big jump from mid (210 lumens) to high (950), there is actually a hidden 450 lumens level after the step down, which is comparable to PD35's. To me, the 210 mid level is plenty of light already, but it would have been nice to have that 450 level as one of the setting. I probably will get a couple more of P12s for my family members' daily carry. Highly recommended!
By Edward
Texas
Great light
May 20, 2014
I gave this light 4 stars, but it is actually better. The flashlight is compact, fits the hand well, and is bright. I took off one star because the mode button is not easy to find. I was expecting it to be lit as the photo shows. However, you only get that when the light is providing battery status. I'm seeing more flashlights with that mode button on the body. It makes you change your hand position from the tail cap button for any other mode. But if you are going to use just one mode, then it is great.
ProsSleek, bright, and awesome finish
ConsMode button should be easier to find
By TJ
Boston area
Outstanding value
May 4, 2014
Wow what a great compact flashlight. It replaced 4 less effective flashlights.
ProsCompact and powerful
By Todd N.
Rochester NY
Best Light I own!
April 11, 2014
I bought this light when it first came out with intentions of buying no other light in its class and I haven't needed another one since then! Great beam, lots of power and impressive timeline before it drains the batteries.
ProsEverything. Size, power, beam, color, and price!
ConsNone, Go buy it!
By Terrence
Gurnee, IL
Great EDC
April 4, 2014
Great light. Well made and comes with nice holster.
By Bud
Texas
Best flash light on the market
March 27, 2014
I haven't bought this item yet, but I am very interested in it already.
ProsGood
ConsAfter seeing how this flash light performs you will buy another one, it's that good .
By robert
Great!
March 5, 2014
This is the best light I have owned. Very easy to use. I am an auto tech and I can\'t say enough about this light. It\'s very powerful, bright on high, easy to change settings, and feels good in your hand. Love it. Thanks
By Wayne
Almost Perfect
February 17, 2014
I bought the P12 because I couldn\'t resist 950 lumens for $60. Turns out, this is an incredibly useful light. A very useful range of brightness settings, a useful beam pattern, and a side mode selector switch make this an almost perfect every day carry. Like Gerry, I do not like the tailcap on/off switch and would prefer a side switch. For daily use I have a slight preference for the Olight S20, but the P12 has the advantage of a very robust build and a high output which makes it an intimidating self-defense tool.
By Gerry
Very good
February 10, 2014
I am impressed by this light. I buy a lot of flashlights; I just bought 3 P12s for guys at work. Amazing power available when you need to reach out there, and very useable steps in output. The one thing I find lacking is the ability to turn the light on in moonlight mode regardless of what mode it was last shut off in. I am also not a fan of tactical tailcap switches, but that is a personal preference; we are utility and home users, and find side switches more practical. I guess that is why the S20 is my favorite flashlight, even though the output is not as high as this P12.
By Tom
OUTSTANDING
December 28, 2013
This light is outstanding ! Excellent throw and power in such a small package.Great weapon light as well. I believe this may be the very best deal out there !
By Fernando L.
Pocket Rocket
December 25, 2013
I was sold on the Fenix PD35 but shortly stumble onto this little gem. To be honest the Nitecore P12 is an outstanding light. It\'s robust but not overly done. The interface is simple it\'s idiot proof. The out put is just about perfect. I myself find 50 lumens and the 1 lumen modes ideal for around the house. The higher modes would be over kill unless you\'re outside. One thing that sold me was the battery checker. It\'s accurate to the slightest voltage. It will also blink when the battery drops to 50%. Overall I am very happy with the P12. Would like to see if it has an available diffuser.
By Bill
Wow
December 20, 2013
Wow,, I just got the P12, Wow,, Technology marches on,,, Did I say \"WOW\"? Years ago I got a Fenix PD-30, and it was very good,,, But at 265 lm vs 950 lm , the Nitcore p12 outshines the PD30,, duh,,, The Wow part is the size is only slightly bigger, and all light levels are accessible from the side switch... You will impress yourself and all that see the P12, every time you get it out...

Page 4 of 4
4