4.6
64 Reviews
5
73% (47)
4
17% (11)
3
6% (4)
2
3% (2)
1
0% (0)
78% Recommend this product (50 of 64 responses)
By Joe T.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Just right.
May 31, 2019
This is the second product I've tried for 'old trusty.' This one is of much better quality of manufacture and casts an excellent white lite. Too pricey but I'll probably still order one more for each of my stashed new minis.
By Jack
Central Illinois
Good Light Output
December 21, 2018
Good light output, but I saved the parts I took out.
By Louis H.
Brookline, MA
Worth the Upgrade
November 24, 2017
Before upgrading my Mini Maglite I lost the reflector. Instead of throwing away the flashlight I bought the TerraLUX upgrade kit, which includes a better and brighter LED and a reflector. The Mini Maglite still turns on and focuses the beam as before, just a lot brighter.
By Alan
Sacramento, California
TerraLUX LED upgrade for Mini Maglite.
July 31, 2017
Well, the TerraLUX LED upgrade is certainly much brighter than the original bulb that comes with the Mini Maglite!
ProsVery bright and likely more rugged than the original bulb.
ConsSlightly difficult to install. Wire leads are very small and have to be aligned accurately in order to insert the replacement bulb in place of the original bulb. Also LEDs have polarity so the replacement upgrade has to be inserted with the correct polarity, otherwise it will not work.
By Kenneth
St. Louis, MO
More than I expected with limitations
June 22, 2017
The LED upgrade for my MiniMag-Lite was brighter than expected, but disappointed that it does not focus into the small point of light like the original design. The upgrade was very easy to do.
ProsBig increase of the level of brightness and with using an LED, making the batteries last much longer. Very easy to do the upgrade.
ConsNo longer focuses to a narrow beam of light.
By jg
buffalo ny
Mini-mag upgrade
April 25, 2017
works great, exactly as described. easy installation. quick shipping. AAA+++
By Eric
Woodbridge, VA
Not Bad
January 10, 2017
Decently bright, especially compared to the stock incandescent bulb. The beam pattern isn't very concentric, but a little off-centered like stock. Given the limitations of the tiny bezel dimensions, this is worth the sale price to give new life to your old Mini MagLite if you don't like useless things sitting around the house. Good little trinket to give a child. Otherwise, just buy something else entirely like a Surefire Titan or Nitecore TIP.
By Andy
California
New Life to an old Mini Mag Lite
December 28, 2016
Easy to install and works perfectly. Much brighter and whiter than original bulb.
ProsEasy to install. Gives new life to an old flashlight
Consnone
By Gary B.
Elk River, MN
Good update for the Mini Maglite
November 16, 2016
Significantly increases light output and is easy to install. I had previously purchased a Nite Ize pushbutton tail cap switch, so the combination of both components make the light much more useful
ProsQuick and easy to install, at least doubles the light output
ConsNone
By Rich
Gwinn, MI
GREAT UPDATE
November 7, 2016
I was pleasantly surprised with how this purchase worked out. The increase in brightness was amazing and worth the cost. Installation is easy and fast. I was impressed enough to order another one. Good update for my old MagLites.
ProsBrightness; price; easy installation
ConsNone really.
By Michael
Goodyear, AZ
TerraLux MiniMag LED Upgrade
September 27, 2016
Great retrofit, super bright, extends battery life from 2-3 hours to 5-6 hours, great for all your old MiniMag lites laying around the house, have a total of 4, one for each car (wife and daughters), overall excellent product, keeps focus feature of the original MagLite.
ProsMuch brighter than original bulb Lasts almost forever Extends battery life about 2X Easy to install
ConsNone
By Joel
San Francisco
Works, but improvements are possible
July 19, 2016
It is certainly bright! The plastic disk could have been manufactured thinner, which would allow for a deeper parabolic mirror, with better focusing. The beam focus is not as good as it should be. But, this is a minor criticism. All-in-all, this is a great product.
By Denny W.
Crestline Ohio
Nice Upgrage
July 15, 2016
This is a very nice upgrade to the Mini-Mag flashlight. Much brighter and still able to focus the light. I think anyone who upgrades from light bulbs to LED using this conversion will be glad they did.
ProsMuch brighter, easy conversion
ConsNone
By Rob R.
Bergen Co, NJ
Fantastic Upgrade
February 27, 2016
Much stronger (±140 lumens) and whiter light output than the original incandescent bulb (±14 lumens). Breathes new life into an older flashlight that I had abandoned for newer, brighter flashlights. Very easy to install. My only issue is it costs almost as much as the original flashlight. I have 2 Mini Maglites. The photos I've attached are of the 2 lights side by side. One light is upgraded and the other is not. In one photo I turned the head from off and stopped as soon as the light turned on for a wide light spread. The other was to get the light to its sharpest focus. In the first case, the LED is much more uniform while the incandescent bulb has obvious light and dark bands. The light spread diameter is about the same but the LED is much whiter and brighter. In the second case, the incandescent bulb and reflector were much more focused with very little light outside the central "hotspot". The LED was again much brighter when focused but there was much more light around the central "hotspot". All-in-all, this is a very good upgrade. Eventually I will upgrade the other light. Just going to wait until I see it on sale again.
ProsEasy to install, Much Brighter,
ConsCost
By il f.
FL
Kinda long!
January 24, 2016
Almost instant conversion. Excellent performance with the Maglite's highly spoken construction. Makes for a rugged toolbox light.
By Jonathan
Wolfeboro, NH
Old mini-mags can now soldier on
December 21, 2015
I had two mini mag lights that I used as car glove box lights, and one I aim at our outdoor thermometer on winter mornings. This upgrade goosed their output and made them more useful much more useful. I would have hated replacing them.
By HUGH
Vermont
Works perfectly better than advertised
December 17, 2015
Works perfectly better than advertised. Just ordered more
ProsGood value
Consnone
By Jim
North Carolina
Works great!
December 15, 2015
Just as advertised.
By Terry
Franklin, Ohio
Great Product
December 8, 2015
Really makes the mini-mag a whole lot brighter! I liked it so much I ordered a second one. Great Price also!
By Fred
Portland, OR
awesome value
November 28, 2015
Bought these to replace old 3-led nite-ize upgrades that disabled the focus function. They work well and focus to quite a tight beam that is much brighter than the leds they replaced. Installation was easy.
ProsBeam can be focused wide to tight. Easy installation.
ConsNone.
By Ralph
Chicago, IL
A good upgrade for my mini maglight.
November 27, 2015
Much better light output versus the original bulb. I would have preferred a tighter focus beam at the narrow end of its range, but it is still a big improvement. Would recommend.
By GFS
Chicago, IL
A great upgrade
November 16, 2015
I am a casual user of flashlights and have been happy with the original Maglite. I have another flashlight with an LED bulb that made the Maglite look weak. So, I bought the LED bulb as an upgrade. It is fantastic. Well worth the money to have the updated flashlight. I hope the claim for longer battery life proves true over time.
By Aretoo25
New Jersey
New Lease on Life
November 14, 2015
The TERRALUX has worked as promised thereby giving new life to 10 year old Mini Maglite.
By Gary
Pacific NW
Works as advertised
September 27, 2015
Installed easily in a Maglite (about 10 years old). 140 lumen rating seems about right based on comparison to an Olight S15 (70 Lumen (med), 280 Lumen (high)). The only possible downside I've noticed is that as you rotate the head to adjust the beam, the location of a focused (spot) beam is only about a 1/2 turn away from where the head becomes completely unscrewed. Not a major issue, but could be improved. Also, when the beam is widened, there's still the dark spot in the middle just like a normal Maglite with a standard bulb.
Pros--Easy install --Much brighter than original bulb
ConsMinor issues - see review
By Ron
Nebraska
Great product
September 14, 2015
This insert converted a seldom used flashlight into a useful tool. Durability is yet to be proven but the amount of light is great.
By John
SoCal
What a difference.
September 12, 2015
I used to be a great fan of maglites, then LED came about. I gave my big maglites away, and tossed the minis in a drawer. When conversion kits came along, I thought it would be fun to hotrod one of my minis. The TerraLUX MiniStar2 TLE-5EX MiniStar2 EXTREME LED for Mini Maglite 2AA Flashlights came on sale at Battery Junction, and I grabbed one. Hey! This is great! Now I have a mini Maglite that casts a bright, white light to the far side of my yard. I have too many flashlights as it is, and now I have a mini mag that's worth taking the garbage out at night. I hate kicking skunks in the dark.
By Ben
NJ
Night to Day Difference
September 6, 2015
Updated a combo of Maglites I had purchased years ago. What a HUGE difference this upgrade makes. Welcome to the 21st century, indeed.
ProsEasy install/upgrade.
ConsNone.
By Rich
The High Desert
Works as described
August 23, 2015
Works as described
By Larry Z.
United States
Lighting Technology At It's Best!
April 17, 2015
Having served in law enforcement and EMS most of my adult life, I can assure you that adequate lighting in emergencies can be lifesaving. This little giant is more than adequate for that purpose. I only wish that this technology had been available when I was on the job. Anyone that claims that the TerraLUX emits a yellowish beam, should schedule an immediate appointment with their opthamologist.
ProsGreat light output. Ease of upgrade. Availability.
ConsNone.
By Giulio
,
A life-changer for an incandescent 2AA Mini MagLite
March 16, 2015
In a LED world, this is the best way to have an incandescent 2AA Mini MagLite survive and with a great output too.
ProsExtremely easy replacement. Very bright. MagLite preserves the focus functions.
ConsNone. All competitors showed lower lumens value.
By Tommy
Southern California
Not 140 Lumens
March 14, 2015
I've owned over one-hundred different flashlights and in my opinion, this drop-in is NOT 140 Lumens. Maybe 100 at best. Is it an upgrade from the OEM incan? Definitely. I don't like the fact the drop-in is so long that you can only get less than one turn of the head before it comes off. For a few dollars more, you can get a Maglite LED 2AA that will be much brighter, but if you want to be able to still use an older incan Minimag, then this will work. Just keep in mind its limitations. The tint on mine was very yellow also.
By Willard C.
Deering, NH
Bright mini mag
February 26, 2015
The conversion makes a mini mag a great little light.
ProsVery bright!!
By Jim S.
Falls Church, VA
So easy to ressurect an old friend.
February 24, 2015
My Mini Maglite 2AA was collecting dust since the original bulb and a couple of replacements had burned out. I ran across this LED upgrade and figured why not give it a try. I'm glad I did. The flashlight seems much brighter than the original and the bulb change took 5 minutes. It took longer to open the package than to switch out the bulb. I can't say how long this replacement will last, but so far I couldn't be more pleased with the result. Tossed in a couple of Energizer AA Ultimate Lithium batteries, and this flashlight in back in business for the long haul.
ProsVery bright. Easy upgrade.
ConsNone so far.
By Matt
Signal hill, ca
Little less impressive than expected
February 11, 2015
I was hoping for a much whiter light than I got. It's very blue for my taste (I would say around 6000 K). The amount of light is about what I expected, probably close to the claimed output. The light beam is full of artifacts and rings though so expect that. The focus ability is acceptable, not better or worse than the original optics. On a side note I do like the way it performs in the candle mode. Almost 180° of light. Photo 1 is an unfocused beam shot Photo 2 is focused next to a quark pro warm white on medium brightness Photo 3 is in candle mode
ProsGreat in candle mode Good runtime Good amount of light
ConsBad color temp Lots of artifacts in beam
By Randy
Maryland
Great Item
February 8, 2015
This TerraLUX unit is a great upgrade for my Mini Mag. Easy to install. Bright light. Price was great. I like it!
ProsGood price Easy installation Nice bright light
ConsNone so far
By Bruce C.
Huntsville, AL
breaks easily
December 27, 2014
the copper contacts broke very easily when attempting to inset the LED into the flashlight's light holder. I could not repair it and hence is now junk.
ProsNoine
ConsEsilly boken
By Chuck
Virginia
Easy upgrade
December 23, 2014
takes less than five minutes to convert a mini mag to an LED light with a bright output. It could not be easier.
ProsEasy conversion, bright output
Consnone
By Jim
Peoria il
Terralux ministar2 tle-5ex
December 20, 2014
These cannot be anywhere near 140 lumens. I think these may be rejects or non conforming LED's. My Ministar2 from 3-4 years ago is brighter. I have a discontinued 80 lumen ITP A3 EOS using 1 AAA battery that is brighter. Also, using Nite Ize 30 lumen that has a better beam and smoother and side by side to my eyes looks brighter Will use them eventually but not an improvement over current led in 2 mini Mags currently in use
ProsPrice was right.
ConsDon't believe they are 140 lumens
By Richard P.
United States
UX MiniStar 2
December 19, 2014
Was better then I expected. Very Pleased.
By Grant
Los Angeles
Nice Upgrade for the Mini-Maglite
December 19, 2014
Easily installed upgrade for the mini-maglite AA series of flashlights. Noticeable improvement in brightness and beam pattern. Turned a virtually unused flashlight to a nice backup unit.
ProsEasy to install. Good price when on sale.
ConsNone really.
By Bob
New York
I LOVE IT!
December 19, 2014
I can't believe the amount light from two AA cells. What is great, Battery's will last longer.
By Lozie
Indianapolis, Indiana
Bright Bulb
December 19, 2014
More light
By Mark
Pepperell, MA
Excellent Upgrade
December 18, 2014
I have not used my Mini-Maglite flashlight for years because the new LED technologies used in today's flashlights make it irrelevant. When I found the TerraLUX MiniStar2 conversion kit on sale at BatteryJunction I couldn't resist. The product was extremely well packaged and the instructions were simple and accurate. Installation took about a minute and the performance is excellent! Brightness is as claimed and the retrofit reflector works very well to create an evenly dispersed beam. At the sale price this product is a great value. It completely transforms the Mini-Maglite to a contemporary tool; mine is back is use after 20 years in the drawer!
ProsGood value; excellent performance; easy to install; runs on AA batteries; restores value to previously outdated flashlight.
ConsNone.
By Scott
Los Angeles,CA
Best upgrade
December 15, 2014
This is the best upgrade for the Mini Maglite. Super bright, and easy installation.
By James
Santa Rosa, CA
Replacement Lamp
December 14, 2014
I liked this item in the beginning but after about 1 month one lead broke off flush to the LED bottom where it fits into the 2 small holes for the lamp leads. Before it failed it was bright, crisp and a little longer battery life.
ProsEasy to install, bright and improves battery life.
ConsFragile, could be brighter.
By Robert B.
PA
This is a must have!
December 12, 2014
Shear genius! This little device has resurected my mini-mag from the junk heap. I had almost forgotten about it(10 + years old), but now is back in my pocket! My brother was amazed at the difference it made in his.
ProsSimple. Shockingly bright. Doesn't get hot. If you run re-chargeables you can get even more performance out of it. I get 3.5 to 4hrs of usable light. Is as bright as most of the mid-range "tac-lights" that cost a lot more than this device plus the price of a mini-mag.
ConsRelearn head adjustment.
By Rob
VANCOUVER, WA
Nice upgrade
December 4, 2014
List price is far too much, but I bought one on sale to try it. The upgrade was easily done and it made a big difference in the lights output. I just bought two more. My old MiniMags were put out to pasture before this upgrade, but now they will come back. The LED not only improves the light output and extends battery life, but the electronic regulator lets the flashlight use more of the battery's energy . I actually pulled two virtually dead AA batteries from the recycle bin, and the light output was still brighter than with the original bulb.
ProsSimple conversion. New life for an old light. Brighter & longer lasting.
ConsA little Pricey; but watch for sales.
By Junius
Bath, NC
Great upgrade
November 21, 2014
The kit was easy to install with the directions that came with it , and it is amazing how much brighter my Mini Maglite is now.
By John
Armonk, NY
Really Bright
October 18, 2014
Incredible increase in brightness compared to the original bulb. Focus spot is well defined...not mushy like the original bulb.
ProsLots of light.
ConsAssembly is a little harder than the instructions suggest.
By William
Aliquippa, PA
Great upgrade
September 24, 2014
Gives my MiniMag new life. Very bright and focusable. Worth every penny.

Page 1 of 2
1